Webinar: “Why Make an Image Database? Digital Tools and New Perspectives in Art History”

December 11, 2020
10:00 US Central | 11:00 US Eastern | 17:00 Italy

On Friday, 11 December, 2020, il Centro per la Storia dell’Arte e dell’Architettura delle Città Portuali (CSAACP) will host a digital seminar featuring The Medieval Kingdom of Sicily Image Database’s project members Caroline Bruzelius and Paola Vitolo. Contact lacapraia[at]gmail[dot]com if you wish to participate.

Why Make an Image Database? Digital Tools and New Perspectives in Art History

Wars, natural disasters, urban expansion, and changes in taste have transformed the medieval monuments of South Italy, their interior decoration, and their relationship to the landscape. The Medieval Kingdom of Sicily Image Database was created to enhance our knowledge and understanding of the appearance and meaning of buildings and their decoration over time, prior to transformation or destruction. The database collects and makes accessible historic images in order to enable scholars and the public to engage with the multiple lives of a building or a city, and to generate deeper knowledge about the historic patrimony of South Italy. The images in the database are culled from libraries, archives, museums, and publications and are made available on the Web and as an App with large and small-scale maps.

 

 


Projects

The Medieval Kingdom of Sicily Image Database